Helen’s Newsletter

romance

Ten Brides for Ten Heroes–Boxed Set of Ten Romances For Only 99 cents!

Ten Brides for Ten Heroes

Ten Brides for Ten Heroes spans the gamut of the ever-popular wedding romance genre–from heartwarming laughter to thrilling adventure, from sweet to steamy. This 10-book bundle features novels by New York Times, USA Today, and National bestselling authors. So get ready to toss the bouquet and say, “I do!” as ten brides risk it all to find their happy ever after.

Here Comes the Bride by Theresa Ragan, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Samantha Johnston, a reporter for the LA Beat, attends the wedding of one of America’s hottest actors in hopes of learning the identity of his mystery bride, and ends up saying, “I do.”

Return of the Runaway Bride by Donna Fasano, USA Today bestselling author.Savanna returns to her hometown to explain why she fled on her wedding day, but she never imagined how her escape all those years ago changed Daniel. Can she make him understand and forgive?

Destination Wedding (The Decorah Security Series) by Rebecca York, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author.After a billionaire’s daughter, Camille Norland, is kidnapped by a Russian mobster bent on matrimony, Decorah Security agent Nick Cassidy is her best hope of rescue. Nick’s never admitted his feelings for Camille. Now he’s desperate to save her before the wedding night.

Wedding Fever (Serendipity Falls Series) by Patrice Wilton, National bestselling author. Can a jaded bridal consultant and a cynical news reporter uncover the true mystery of Serendipity Falls without being swept away in the madness?

The Army Doctor’s Wedding (The Army Doctor’s Series) by Helen Scott Taylor, Award-winning and National bestselling author. Major Cameron Knight throws himself into the danger of battlefield medicine to forget his past mistakes. Can an injured charity worker and an orphan newborn baby give him a chance to redeem himself and find love?

Single & Searching by Rita Herron, National bestselling author. 
A woman looking for love… A reporter looking for a story… A mad rush to find a criminal… When the truth comes out and danger strikes, will they succumb to the passion burning between them?

Wedding Surprise (Holiday Babies Series) by Mona Risk, Award-winning and National bestselling author. Two weeks before the big day, Claire and David receive some startling news that can destroy their relationship. Is their love for each other strong enough to turn the worst wedding surprise into the best?

Summer of Love by Annie Jones, Award-winning and National bestselling author. Brides, Beehives and Barbecue! Can mother daughter mayhem be far behind? Bless her heart, it’s 1967 and a determined southern bride isn’t sure love is really all she needs.

Tomboy Bride (The Dance ‘n’ Luv Series) by Alicia Street, Award-winning and National bestselling author. Kendra returns home for her brother’s wedding determined to get her age-old crush to finally see her as more than a tomboy. But will her game of making him jealous with a hot and handsome faux-beau make him fall for her–or backfire and leave her in ashes?

Love Me Tender (The “Elvis” Series) by Mimi Barbour, National bestselling author. How could Anne go back to Texas knowing that her son would be meeting a father and grandmother who never even knew he existed? But how could she stay away when a woman who’d been the only mother she ever knew was dying and needed her?

Release date June 24th. Available for preorder on Amazon and iBooks.

Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, iBooks, Nook, Kobo

New Contemporary Romance Coming September 24th!

 

I’m excited to announce that my first release from Carina Press is due out on September 24th. For those who have read my other contemporary romances, I’m sure you will enjoy this story set in a small English town and the Italian Amalfi coast.

Finally Home

As manager of the charming Greyfriar House Hotel, Melanie Marshall loves her job and spending time with her young son. But she can never forget what she ran away from: her late husband’s crimes and her own terrible guilt. Though lonely, Melanie can’t afford to let another man into her life.

But when her boss, gorgeous hotel owner Jack Summers, returns from his supposed wedding without a ring or a wife, Melanie discovers there’s more to him than she ever thought. For one, the ex-soccer star is her son’s idol. But the closer she gets to Jack, the more she pulls away. She can’t share her past. Ever.

For too long, Jack’s protected his scarred heart by letting gold-digging women make him think love didn’t matter. But a sweet single mother and a soccer-crazy little boy change everything. He knows Melanie has secrets. Secrets she’ll have to share if he’s to help her realize she’s finally home.

Available as an ebook on Amazon.com, Amazon.co.ukB&N, Carina Press

Free Book Promotion

Announcing

Summer Sizzler Free Par-Tay

June 13th – 14th!

Let’s celebrate summer: time to kick back, relax, and read!!!

There’s no better way to ease into it

than with Dozens of Great books that are FREE!

TWO DAYS ONLY

Find romances from sweet to suspenseful to humorous and hot,

Thrillers, Mysteries, Sci-Fi, Historical, Contemporary, YA, Children’s and more!

All FREE!!

Fantastic eBooks, many by award-winning and best-selling authors.

 

Visit www.freepartay.com for all the titles, Kindle & gift card

raffle entries, and links!

Join in the Par-Tay! Let’s sizzle!

Book Lovers’ Buffet – All Books 99cents

 

Romance, mystery, women’s fiction–lots of quality books at the special low price of 99 cents. Snap up some beach reads and vacation bargains for your ereader!

Book Lovers Buffet Starting June 8th!

Romance Hot Buttons

Of the tropes found in romance fiction, if you are anything like me you’ll have certain hot button plot devices or issues that you’re drawn to. I’ve discovered from analysing the films and books I enjoy that my hot buttons are reunited lovers, especially childhood sweethearts who are parted and then find each other again, the classic Cinderella trope, marriage (or engagement) of convenience,  friends to lovers and unrequited love. I also love babies and children in sweet romances. Most books and films that include these elements in the plot appeal to me.

One of my favorite films is Pretty Woman, a classic Cinderella story. More unusual is the reverse Cinderella story like Notting Hill where the roles are switched. Hugh Grant is the Cinderella Character to Julia Roberts rich and famous actress. I still enjoy it this way round if it’s done well, but I prefer the man as the ‘Prince’.

In addition to those I’ve already mentioned, there are many other much-loved romance plots that have been done numerous times but never get old (as Harlequin will vouch for!). Here are a few I can think of, but I’m sure there are many more: secret baby, amnesia, man in love with best friend’s younger sister, the ugly duckling, kidnapping, mistaken identity, reformed rake/playboy, revenge, forbidden love/Romeo & Juliet, tortured hero, boss/secretary (probably falls under Cinderella), Beauty and the Beast. Many of the best romance novels seem to take one of these tropes and give it a twist to keep it fresh.

I also have to admit to loving heroes who have a nerdy side even if they try to hide it. And something that gets me every time is a hero who reveals his vulnerability. I love a wounded hero!

What started me thinking about classic plots devices was the realization that I’d included most of my favorites in my latest release Unbreak My Heart, without setting out to do so. At its heart, this is a story of childhood sweethearts who are reunited and rediscover love, but I blended in an engagement of convenience, friends to lovers and Cinderella.

What are your favorite romance tropes to read and write? Are they the same? Are there any you don’t like?

Welcome…


Welcome to my website. I’ve had a facelift along with a change of genre. After writing paranormal romance for a few years and publishing the Magic Knot Fairies books, the demise of my publisher knocked me back a little and I wanted a fresh start. I decided to go back to my first love, contemporary romance, and since then I’ve released a variety of new contemporary romances, including Unbreak My HeartOceans Between Us, The Army Doctor Series and Italian Christmas. Alongside various boxsets with fellow Sweet Romance writers. In the tradition of Harlequin and Mills and Boon, these books are romance through and through.

Do check out my Books Page for more details on my books and if you have any questions for me just shoot me an email through my contact page.

Thanks for stopping by!

Helen Scott Taylor